Ethy's art corner - Critiques wanted!

Discussion in 'Tutorials and Critiques' started by Ethriol, May 12, 2017.

1. Ethriol

Ethriol New Member

Hi all,

I'm a self taught artist (FA) - currently I'm really trying to improve on my colour schemes, composition and background elements (you'll have to bare with me on that last one, I keep putting it off haha)

I'm really looking for critiques to bring my work just a little bit further forward, so anything you notice is useful!

Here are a few recent examples:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Frostbyte The Shark likes this.
  2. Royn

Royn Otterest Sergal evah!

lol specially dig the witchcat selfie.

3. Ethriol

Ethriol New Member

Haha thanks!

4. MadKiyo

MadKiyo Villainous Fly

It has a nice warmth to it that I can't describe because I'm not eloquent at describing art, but what I can say is keep going with what you have and refine it. My area of critique would be to search for more detail. Not too much because that wouldn't fit your art style. For example, finding more unique characteristics of the animal the character is based on and incorporating them into the artwork. I would also suggest somewhat darker shading in areas that need it (like the witch cat, the brim of the hat gives much shelter from the moon's reflected light, so the hair immediately below the hat and bottoms of the ears should be darker).

And finally an incoming opinion that may or may not mean anything to you if you chose...

Add slightly more indications of fur.

Frostbyte The Shark likes this.
  5. Andromedahl

Andromedahl Unlicensed UFO Pilot

Ah my god everything looks so sofffttt, everyone has character, REALLY digging the perspective going on with the witch cat.

I think you might wanna experiment with some more dramatic shading tho

6. Ethriol

Ethriol New Member

Thank you so much for the feedback.
    You're right, I didn't really think about the lighting enough on that witch picture, thank you.