how to improve...?

Discussion in 'Art & Illustration' started by LemonLime, Apr 14, 2017.

1. LemonLime

LemonLime Guest

hi, guys! i'm brand new to drawing anthro and i find myself struggling with it a lot.
    i've grown used to a cartoony style that basically only looks decent on humans...
    any tips for getting better? just lots of practice, trying realistic drawings of animals, etc.? let me know!

2. AlleycatIrony

AlleycatIrony dubstep macarena

honestly i say just lots of practice! looking at plenty of references is a good thing too, same w/ tutorials for things like colouring!
    it's also good to find artists ur inspired by to try and give u that, well, inspiration for coming up w/ ur own individual drawing style c:

3. LemonLime

LemonLime Guest

lots of practice, refs, and art inspiration! all good advice. thank you so much! ;v;

AlleycatIrony likes this.
  4. Kezi Avdiivka

Kezi Avdiivka Active Member

5. LemonLime

LemonLime Guest

6. MadKiyo

MadKiyo Villainous Fly

What I did is I tried translating all of the features of the animal to a humanoid body. It will look kind of stupid, but take a process of elimination until it looks good to you.

7. LemonLime

LemonLime Guest

ohh i'll have to try this! thank you!

8. IncubusZenith

IncubusZenith Pessimistic Incubus

As an anime artist, I used the basic same structure I did for people, and then built animal features around it?? If that makes sense.
    Using references is always the best way to improve, for ANYTHING. And LOTS of practice, even small doodles count as practice.

9. LemonLime

LemonLime Guest

it makes sense! i think that's what i'm going to practice trying to do, building the features around a humanoid body. thank you!

IncubusZenith likes this.
  10. Doodle Bunny

Doodle Bunny Frequently says stupid things.