Liska: Leucistic Red Fox

Discussion in 'Fursuiting and Costuming' started by BC_Gracie, May 9, 2017.

Tags:
  1. BC_Gracie

BC_Gracie New Member

I finished my first fursuit head! She's supposed to be kinda goth/punk so I left her fur a little shaggy around the ears and cheeks, and I gave her messy eyeliner/shadow.[​IMG]
    She's part of a partial fursuit right now, I have handpaws and a tail as well, no footpaws yet though so boots it is. I made her headbase entirely out of foam, with eyes made from cross stitch canvas and fur from Joann Fabrics (Fashion Faux Fur- Grizzly). Her name is Liska, which is Slovak for "fox". (I know, so original, right?)

So... Comments? Questions? Suggestions? This is my first time finishing a fursuit, I have another one half done but I doubt I'll ever finish it.

2. Aces

Aces Member

There's two things I would suggest, the first of which involves a little color theory. White foxes have black mucosal membranes, as you've represented already. However, the natural black of these animals is derived from plentiful *brown* pigmentation. Black isn't just black, its a range of deep, deep color.

I feel like you could get the idea of messy mascara well by mixing up a warmer black paint and outlining the eyes, nose and mouth with it- the blue-black of the makeup will become more apparent.

If you're daring, you could add some hairs from a dark housepainting brush at the eyes to evoke eyelashes, too.