Newbie Question: Are Fursuit Heads Fragile?

Discussion in 'Fursuiting & Costuming' started by Belatucadros, Feb 13, 2017.

1. Belatucadros

Belatucadros Incredibly Customized Title

Hi all, I would like to get a head eventually but I had to wonder: Aren't these heads fragile? These things are only made of foam or cast resin, so I see how one could get crushed or deformed very easily. And we all know they are ungodly expensive... Any thoughts from you guys are greatly appreciated. Thanks!

2. MT45

MT45 Just Another Fox

I don't own a head yet, but I have mine in the works. From what my maker can tell me, yes, they are typically the most fragile piece of a fursuit. However, the foam based heads can be relatively forgiving. Granted, smashing them down into a pancake won't be good for them, but a few bumps here and there won't hurt much.

Kirkzer and Belatucadros like this.
  3. Philosophy Felidae

Philosophy Felidae An eternal novice

I'm not an expert builder, but personally I say treat a foam fursuit head as you would treat a stuffed animal you loved very much. You don't want to rough it too much, but they're sturdy enough that they won't break easily. The foam it's composed of is quite durable and forgiving; though most heads are made of foam and hot glue, providing a somewhat fragile seam. The ears and muzzle are pieces whose attachment to the head usually relies almost completely on hot glue, so some makers recommend you not carry them or grab them by the ear or nose. All heads are different and will vary in fragility and materials, so I would ask whoever you commission upfront, but mostly I wouldn't fret too much.

Belatucadros likes this.
  4. HallowQueen

HallowQueen Candy is dandy~

hi, sugar!