People rude abot free art...?

Discussion in 'Art & Illustration' started by pallid-panda, Feb 16, 2017.

1. pallid-panda

pallid-panda New Member

So I opened up free requests on a few sites just to get some practice in. I did a torso drawing of a girls OC and she sends me a private message saying ;
    "I'm not trying to get blocked or be rude about your artwork. I just didn't realize you were going to finish the drawing of my character so quickly. I was really hoping to show you a full body pose reference first =\"

Like..I spent hours on the drawing, sure I finished it in a night but it still took hours. I have no idea how to reply to that. I'm sorry I didn't do full body? I'm sorry fullbody takes way more time and I wanted to focus on trying to get the face shape right since I've never done one of those before? I don't want to be rude to her but I already have a rudeish reply typed out and am tempted to send it.

What would you do it someone complained about art you did for someone for free?

Art in question:

Attached Files:

2. I can imagine some people are..
    Personally, I find it amazing that people do free art to begin with. Although I did do some free short stories before I got super busy.

I'd just say something to the effect of, 'Sorry, but it's free, so deal with it', although that still feels a bit rude...

Random image that I feel fits the situation:

3. galaxy-meow

galaxy-meow dapper cat

Wow, ungrateful. when it comes to free art you take whatever they give you and say thank you.
    Tell her if she wanted it a specific way she can commission you.

4. Alex K

Alex K "When in doubt go on bout"

As long as it ain't that Microsoft texture in the paintins im sure all art will be greatly appreciated

Frostbyte The Shark likes this.
  5. lenago

lenago New Member

well that is uncalled for,i mean free art or not,its clear that you put effort on yours,while maybe not rude (though i still find her PM a bit) she is still being quite ungratfull.