Simple ideas on how to not overheat (with your head on)?

Discussion in 'Fursuiting & Costuming' started by carolioness, Feb 1, 2017.

1. carolioness

carolioness New Member

Hi everyone!
    I'm currently challenging myself by building my first (realistic-like) fursuit. (yee-haw!)
    As I'm quite new to the fandom and especially to building fursuits, I'm still trying to find the best ways to make stuff. There are hundreds of tutorials online (which is absolutely great!) but there's one thing I'm still quite doubtful about:
    I can imagine that being in a fursuit can be extremely hot. I want to finish the suit for a fantasy/cosplay festival that's coming up and I will have to wear it all day there. Even though the fesitval is held outside: I can still imagine that one could overheat quite easily. I know from experience that my body isn't too capable of very hot situations, so because of that and it being my first suit experience; I want to play as safe as possible.

The suit itself will probably be bearable; I've so far done padding to create digitigrade legs, but the body itself will just be fur, and I guess that won't be too extreme. The head however, might be a problem...
    Before I decided to make a full suit, I was thinking about a half-mask covered in fur (like those Venetian masks, you know?) but it somehow itches to make a complete head. I've tried making a base with foam but wearing that base only for 5 minutes already was quite hot, as your head produces quite some heat itself and foam won't breathe at all so just keeps it all in. So I'm not sure if that's a good idea for that 'whole day of wearing it' festival... The foam was mainly the problem in this case; the parts that weren't covered din't feel overheated.