What are the number one mistakes of first time fursuit makers?

Discussion in 'Fursuiting and Costuming' started by paroapockinroo, Dec 15, 2012.

1. We all know the classics, dogs with square noses, larger foreheads...what are some more subtle ones that can be avoided though? Anyone who commissions fursuits or has been making them a while I would love your feedback.

2. Wereling

Wereling Member

I'm a beginner and I've made small things (mini mannequin full suit for a drawing dummy and tails/gloves) and my biggest problems were probably 1.fur amounts ALWAYS ALWAYS ALWAYS measure with a 1-2 in margin or even more if you can spare it 2. Seams I couldn't always get them to look seamless so yeah that's another problem
    3.claws misaligned I couldn't always get the claws on right but just check and double check before gluing on and you'll be alright

ADDITION: Also this is a problem that this person made on 3+ masks https://d.facdn.net/art/huskyton3/1336529210.huskyton3_dagger_the_wolf_fursuit_head.jpg
    though I'm not sure if it'll show the pic or just a link but yeah so just DON'T do what this maker did

Last edited: Dec 16, 2012
  3. RitsukaAo

RitsukaAo *side-eyes*

Do you have a live journal account? This page has tons of stuff to browse through: http://fursuit.livejournal.com/

Anyway, I've found that although I need to be critical of my work, I need to understand it won't be perfect. It will just frustrate you to no end obsessing about every little thing. There is no shame in a few flaws. Also, you need to make sure that your head has personality. Dead/soulless eyes with a flat expression looks creepy and you need to make sure that the face matches the character you are trying to portray. So no doofy looks on your serious fursona.

4. DarrylWolf

DarrylWolf New Member

"Drag queen eyebrows"- where the eyebrows are not level.

5. Wereling

Wereling Member

Lol you make me laugh xD cause it's true!!!