• Fur Affinity Forums are governed by Fur Affinity's Rules and Policies. Links and additional information can be accessed in the Site Information Forum.

Any Help Appreciated

AcerbicSeth

Tetched In The Head
Hello!
I'm trying to redesign the purple bozo, Acerbic, whom you can see in my profile pic.
(...he's not really a bozo)

I'm not too happy with how he is right now...
I'd like him to be more cartoony and have a few more colors.

Before you get all worried, I already have a picture like that drawn up of him, I'm not asking for someone to just draw him from scratch here, I'm looking more for pointers on how to improve it (not the profile pic, a different one).

First off, some background on my artistic abilities (feel free to skip this section if you'd like, it's mostly irrelevant).
Not to toot my own horn, but I'm a pretty damn good artist... when it comes to being a printer.
I'm really good at realism and traditional art, but really bad at designing stuff without photo reference.

I've been practicing, and trying to remedy that fault for about a year now, though not a whole lot of progress has been made.
After a while I can get something 1/2 way decent sometimes, but that's due more to persistence than skill (I pass more than 20 revisions of construction lines sometimes... it'll usually be 3-4 days of tweaking before I have something I'm satisfied with).

I've been using GIMP for awhile now, along with my mouse and keyboard to make everything. Tried out a tablet for awhile (it was a Wacom Intuos Pro) but didn't like it--I'm actually much more accurate with the mouse than I was on that.
The way I draw is I do my construction lines--all scratchy and inaccurate, then I go over them again in a new layer at about 1500% zoom and just form everything out of a bunch of tiny little straight lines... very tedious. Especially when I want any form of line-width variation.

So now that my rambling is finished, I'll get to the point of this thread.