• Fur Affinity Forums are governed by Fur Affinity's Rules and Policies. Links and additional information can be accessed in the Site Information Forum.

Are ‘YCH’ worth it?

LunarTiger

Hey guys! Lately I’ve seen a lot of YCH submissions on FurAffinity. Usually they have an auction or a flat bid price. My question is, are they worth the time and effort?

Artists: Have you had success with creating YCH? What tips do you have to make these posts successful?

People who buy YCH: What do you look for when you are bidding for a YCH? I’m curious as to why people bid on these when they could commission artists to draw their character. Why does this appeal to you?

This is the first time I’ve seen these kind of posts since I’m new to the community. Is this an art trend that everyone plays along with or is this a legit method of making income? I want to make sure I have some background info before I tackle something like this.

Thank you so much for all your help.

Rayd

profound asshole
YCH's have been around for a very long time and is something that many artists do, and many artists who even do them and nothing else when it comes to commissions.

Usually YCH's are either bases, or small little edits that are sold many times over. They're not always auctions, and most of the time have unlimited slots. This is a surprisingly good way to make money as an artist if said base or small edits are good enough, cheap enough, and quick and easy to do. I know a few artists who only do small, cheap YCH stuff for 3-5 USD each and they're able to make a sizable profit off of it with how many people commission them.