• Fur Affinity Forums are governed by Fur Affinity's Rules and Policies. Links and additional information can be accessed in the Site Information Forum.

Asking for painting exercises.

MainHammond

Former Big Toasty Cinnamon Bun
I'm an amateur artist what knows some basic stuff like adding basic shadows and lighting effects to a drawing. But I know nothing about painting, and even though I've seen some speedpainting on youtube, they are like going from zero to over 9000.

So I was wondering if you could give some exercises or tell how did you get started in the world of digital painting .

TyraWadman

The Silent Observer
If you're an absolute beginner for digital painting, I would first find a software you like. There are plenty of free ones, but I prefer PaintToolSai version 2 (about $50 USD? Possibly less?). I find Photoshop to be too technical. In PaintToolSai, you can have line control (meaning your lines will look smooth and not like rubbing shaky/jittery plastic on plastic). Aside from that, it's fairly simplistic in design. You can use some basic color/contrast filters, or take advantage of their perspective rulers and shape rulers (no more stressing over drawing a perfect circle!!!).

Once you've played around with the softwares and find the one you like, research it! Learn the software! A big part of 'getting gud' is to figure out how the tools work and knowing how to balance/adjust brush settings. Some people feel the need to have 50 different brushes for one thing, which you can also do, but I can' do most, if not 100% of an art piece with a single brush if I wanted to.