• Fur Affinity Forums are governed by Fur Affinity's Rules and Policies. Links and additional information can be accessed in the Site Information Forum.

Best sewing machine? What do you use?

Hello!
I'm thinking of buying my own sewing machine as soon as I can and I'll be starting to save up and searching for deals.
What do you use with faux fur? I mainly deal with minky and faux fur so something sturdy and smart, but not *too* much.
And affordable all-terrain sewing vehicle is more of what I'm looking for haha

What do you use? If you could buy a sewing machine what would you buy?

smolmuffin

A teeny muffin
I currently have a Brother XM2701. I have no experience with sewing fur but the machine has seen some use with other projects. Its a beginner friendly machine (for the most part... I can't figure out how to trigger the stretch stitches and I've looked everywhere for directions) I can see it working well with faux fur and similar fabrics.

Something else to keep in mind is having the proper needle type and thread. Certain fabrics benefit greatly from specialized needles and thread. These should be easy to find online, the machine instruction manual will point you towards the specifics. Make sure you check these instructions as a lot of machines might break or not function correctly if you use a thread that is too thick or thin. The included needles will work with most fabrics tho.

You might benefit from a machine designed to work with heavy weight fabrics but a lot of general use ones should be able to handle fur.

Edit: learning how to use the knobs that adjust tension and width... All of that fun stuff is very important as well.

Kellan Meig'h

Kilted Luthier
Janome, Pfaff, Viking, any mashine that has a steel inner chassis and gear train. Singer has only one that I will endorse, it shows on the package that it has a steel chassis inside, goes for $199 USD, I think. The 4452 is a very nice Singer, all metal frame.