• Fur Affinity Forums are governed by Fur Affinity's Rules and Policies. Links and additional information can be accessed in the Site Information Forum.

Best vs worst way to learn to draw?

Experimentonomen

Out of curiosity which are the best vs worst ways to learn to draw ?

Im about 2/3 of the way to 31 so i realize my age is gonna have its obstacles, such as loss of fine motion control, eyesight, reflexes/response time, generally stiffer than younger ppl etc.

Z-Mizz

Monkey Magic c(^o^)ɔ
I'm no great artist (actually picking the pencil up again after 10 years of nothing), but age doesn't make a difference when it comes to learning or doing art. It's all about (I'm sure you've heard this before) practice, practice, practice. The more you do, the better you get/muscle memory builds/easier to picture things, etc.

But I'm sure someone will come along soon with actual drawing advice so good luck! (^_^) I'm looking forward to the answers to your question as well.

Experimentonomen

It's pretty much the same thing for me, picxking up a pen/pencil after 10+ years of nothing, well other than electronics circuit diagrams and/or the occational package signing. Though the only non electronics thing i can remember drawing as a kid was my grandma.

Bidoyinn

I don't think there's a real 'best way' past 'draw.' There isn't anything you can do that will be as beneficial as actually making the art. How much experience did you have before this?

And I guess the worse thing you can do is not draw at all, lol.

Samandriel Morningstar

The Morningstar
I think a lot of people compare themselves to other artists way too much and try to adopt that artists style for their own instead of trying to 'find themselves' and that sets them up for failure.

Experimentonomen