• Fur Affinity Forums are governed by Fur Affinity's Rules and Policies. Links and additional information can be accessed in the Site Information Forum.

boop! let's practice learning how to draw together!

ghrend

Hi, (sorry if this is the wrong subforum to be posting this; this is my first post!)

Right now, I am 23 years old currently (yay! :D) and I am... actually a math major looking to graduate soon from university.

My major is in Applied & Computational Mathematics - a concentration bloated with science, math and CS courses. Also has absolutely nothing to do with art! xD
Well... recently I have discovered that I have an anxiety disorder, and also ADHD so I am trying to find a way to also get myself really motivated again and I have unfortunately lost contact with all of my old friends from university.

One of the things I was suggested was to draw, and so I am really interested in combining that suggestion with trying to make friends. Tragically though, I am completely lost in this process... I have not started drawing but I know what I like. I am not into drawing super detailed work, and I would like to start with cartoon characters first. My hope was that I could make good friends with people online (sort of when I learned my third language on LiveMocha) who are also wanting to learn how to draw.

However.... at first glance, it seems like most popular art sites (eg. DeviantArt, FurAffinity, etc.) are only there for people to UPLOAD art, and not really socialize. Is this true though? Does anybody have any suggestions on websites where I could interactively learn with a bunch of "newbie artists" such as myself, particularly also around the same age as me? I feel a little bit "in the dark," being a Math/CS student and maybe it is really hard to find people online who are as old as me and who don't know a thing about art but want to draw!

-ghrend