• Fur Affinity Forums are governed by Fur Affinity's Rules and Policies. Links and additional information can be accessed in the Site Information Forum.

Character Design

Xaerun

"toxic and negative"
This could fit in a whole range of sections but since I'm primarily a writer when it comes to using characters I'll put it here.

Now.
I'm looking at designing additional characters, and whilst I have an idea of what I'd like in mind I'm not sure if I'm very good at slipping in and out of characters. Judging accurately what they'd do in certain situations, etc. Your own fursona is ridiculously easy; he/she/it just does what you'd do in each situation. Not difficult at all. However, other characters get tricky.

Some people say "Use your close friends as models", but I don't know many people well enough to know what they'd do if they were cornered by a dragon in a marketplace and are surrounded by cotton candy and soda, for example. Weird and wonderful situations.

I've seen some people who put personas on and off like a hat (like that class in D&D... Mountebank, isn't it?) and have it absolutely nailed. So, I was wondering, does anyone have any tips on how to get better at developing characters? Taking it all the way to favourite ice-cream flavour to what shoe they put on first to what time they go to bed, everything.

Play Dungeons and Dragons, maybe? I've been looking at picking it up and it seems like a reasonably good way to practice...

Xaerun

"toxic and negative"
Oh no, that isn't the issue. The difficulty is changing between characters.
Thank you anyway, MLR's posts are always pretty fascinating to read.

Zeichwolf

Wolven Writer of FA
Ah, yes, this has caught me a few times. Every now and then I'll see my characters sort of... blend, so that personalities are less distinct. Reactions to events generally seem to lean towards your own reactions, even though the character isn't based off of you. I know how that is far too well.