• Fur Affinity Forums are governed by Fur Affinity's Rules and Policies. Links and additional information can be accessed in the Site Information Forum.

Commission Ethics Question from Artist

AmaraBurrger

Burr: Draw-er of Things
(Sorry if this is in the wrong section of the forums. I couldn't find a spot that fit correctly, so I just dumped this in General Discussion since I'm not asking about prices, specifically - just about the ethical implications discussed below. Thank you!)

Hey all. I've been doing commission work for about 10 years, now. Got my start on FA as a commission artist on an old account and my first commission was in the TF genre. From that point forward, that was kinda just what my audience became and I took more and more TF commissions as time went on.

Now, before I ask my question, I want to preface things and lay it all out on the table. I have ZERO problem with the TF community. I don't dislike it as a genre. I'm simply not that into it. And, I'd like to start building my gallery up with more things I enjoy, like pinups and high fantasy and tentacles and whatnot.

Short version: Rather than being known as a TF artist, I'd like to be known for my other work.

ANYWAY, today I'm starting to set up my new price increase since I've skilled up a lot and demand is mounting and I need to pay my ever-increasing bills, yadda yadda yadda. The fact came up that some artists impose an upcharge for things which make them uncomfortable or they're not interested in drawing, like NSFW stuff. This got me thinking - I'd kind of like to do less TF art in the future, so would it be ethically bad to set an upcharge on TF commissions or, for that matter, other genres?

On the one hand, it would fulfill what I want to do, which is as I said above - I wanna do less TF art and more of the stuff I'm into (since the entire body of my work represents me as an artist to some extent).