• Fur Affinity Forums are governed by Fur Affinity's Rules and Policies. Links and additional information can be accessed in the Site Information Forum.

Eulogies

Cam

Tick my laint
So after 6 months of battling liver failure, escaping death 2 times, and losing all mental consciousness for 2 weeks, my mother has passed away early this morning.

So after a hard day of thinking, experiencing high and numb emotions, I have decided that I am going to be reading the eulogy for my moms services on Saturday...

Only problem is I have never written one of these things before... so I have no idea what to put in...

After about an hour of thinking, I have about 2 paragraphs written so far, basically describing humorous and very deep minded perceptions of my mom and whatnot..

Even though I got teary throughout writing the whole thing (err.. well what I have so far that is) I dont think i'll have an issue presenting it to a large crowd, since I am incredibly good at presenting myself in front of a large amount of people.

So does anyone have any good tips for writing and presenting a eulogy? Ever read one for a loved one before?

T

Tycho

Never had to write/read an eulogy before. I can tell you that writing a long eulogy for the sake of being long as some kind of tribute to the departed or something is overrated/dumb. Who she was, what she meant to you, what you will remember her for. Anything else is pointless window dressing - I seriously doubt she's doing a word count on your eulogy from the great beyond and saying "Tsk, tsk, you couldn't come up with 800 words for your mother?" like a history teacher reading an essay.

Cam

Tick my laint