• Fur Affinity Forums are governed by Fur Affinity's Rules and Policies. Links and additional information can be accessed in the Site Information Forum.

Feedback on my Demo? VST recommendations and mixing tips?

Demensa

Characterless sack of potatoes
I've been wanting some constructive criticism/feedback on my demo: http://demensa.bandcamp.com/ (I know, I probably don't deserve a bandcamp yet... but it's easy for music sharing.) since I'm still very new to the idea of creating electronic music.
Musically, I know where I want to go and I know pretty well how I could improve, although feedback on that is VERY welcome. The things I have really been wanting suggestions on is: What plugins do you recommend? and How do you go about mixing and mastering a piece?
I've tried in recent songs to use EQ to make sure certain synths aren't just drowning each other out (you can tell that I haven't done this on these "demo" songs) and other ways to mix better, but I really don't know much about doing this in a precise fashion, although I'm sure there is a ridiculous amount of practice needed to make any sort of progress. And of course: My synths SUCK, which is the reason for the first question. Half of the synths I've used are slightly tweaked presets and the other half are really basic synths, as I am still learning my way around some of the plugins I have.

So you might ask: "Why don't I just google this? or post it on a forum that is actually about music?".
Don't worry. I'm doing these as well. I figure that the more places I get personalised feedback from, the more tips I have to draw on. This is especially true since I'm steering away from a set, traditional genre of music, although I lack knowledge of electronic genres, so tell me if this fits right in to one.
Also I'm using Fruity Loops (I know. What a joke.) so feel free to recommend a better DAW if you think I may benefit.

In chronological order the songs are: