• Fur Affinity Forums are governed by Fur Affinity's Rules and Policies. Links and additional information can be accessed in the Site Information Forum.

Critique: Feedback wanted

BubbleBee01

I’m still pretty new to anthro art and I’m working on developing my style. I was trying something (you can see in my old posts or my FA) but not liking it so I tried to switch things up a bit.

This is just a headshot but I’m wondering how the overall style looks and am looking for general feedback as well.

Here’s a link to the drawing: www.furaffinity.net: Headshot practice by BubbleBee01

NargaArt

Before I start, I should tell you to take my advice with a grain of salt, maybe I don't know what I'm talking about! Maybe I'm just a loony that's full of nonsense. You can take all my advice, some of it, or none of it!

That being said, I would say to not worry about style. I see a lot of new artists, myself included, jumping straight to finding a style before they learn the fundamentals. They try to hide behind style to avoid learning the basics, and hiding their mistakes behind "that's just my style". I would say to learn the fundamentals, the basics, and adjust them to fit particular tastes.

So, to start, first thing I noticed is that your shadow color is just a darker version of the base color, which I will call average light because color is affected by light. It's typically uncommon to see "base color" since light plays a strong part in deciding what the color our eyes end up seeing. Shadow is often times cooler than the average light color, more blue. When the subject is hit with a cool light, the shadow will often times appear warmer. In the case of your piece, I decided to go with a cooler shadow. I hue shifted the color towards the blue, lowered the value, and played with the saturation until it felt right, usually i increase the saturation but decreasing works too, depends on how you implement it.