• Fur Affinity Forums are governed by Fur Affinity's Rules and Policies. Links and additional information can be accessed in the Site Information Forum.

It is just me or fanart is not that well appreciated? [Discussion]

Starlet Fables

I'm Starlet, your artsy panda!
Hiyo, people!

I'm an artist and I mostly draw fanart as it is a little easier for me to create something on it, make a twist, etc. I started to look for groups and places to share my work, maybe get some people to commission with me, and I noticed something. Most of the work being shown is original, and really few are fanart, it's somewhat rare actually.

I'm not saying I'm against original work, don't get me wrong, it's just that I took quite some time to create Starlet (my fursona) design and I find fascinating how people can produce furry characters like a full throttle factory lol

Does anyone know why this happens? Maybe get me some advise, I will really appreciate your opnions.

Jackpot Raccuki

Vibing Raccuki
Hello friend!
I believe that heavily depends on what exactly you're making fanart for.

You can make fan art of a fairly popular series and get people who like it. Or you make fan art of something not many people know of and are less likely to find it or even maybe like it. It's a mix bag of "If it's well-known more people will be searching for it and thus it's likely to show up" and "Depends heavily on what it is and how much would people generally like it."
As for commissioning fanart, personally speaking I'd rather see my fursona with Sly Cooper than just a fan art of Sly Cooper so to speak, unless I was wanting it for cover for a stream or something? But in terms of just fan art being purely just characters from a media, I would likely not consider getting it.
Although in terms of fan art with the character and say someone's fursona, I've seen a few if not plenty.