• Fur Affinity Forums are governed by Fur Affinity's Rules and Policies. Links and additional information can be accessed in the Site Information Forum.

Making characters less stiff

squiddler

Every thing I draw always looks kind of weirdly posed
How do I make things look more fluid?

595028AA-0B9C-468C-A257-B1E74FC9EDD4.jpeg
72A7B6B1-C64F-474E-830F-EB241444AA03.jpeg
4D0B115B-790B-486D-AEF6-B56C8DDF90B9.jpeg

HistoricalyIncorrect

Shekel collector
Actually the first pic immediately gave me the 1920-1940 idea of fashion so being stiff fits it perfectly.

And I am not an artist to give advices like that >.<
Perhaps some different poses? Maybe a background?

squiddler

Actually the first pic immediately gave me the 1920-1940 idea of fashion so being stiff fits it perfectly.

And I am not an artist to give advices like that >.<
Perhaps some different poses? Maybe a background?
I will try different poses and backgrounds, thank you! And the first post is a pun based on 1920-1950’s style. It’s Betty Crocker spaniel and Eartha Katt.

Pomorek

Antelope-Addicted Hyena
I think the problem is that they're standing in a rigidly straight way.

In reality, unless you're purposefully trying to stand like this, the body assumes a bit of "S - curve". The hips and shoulders aren't perfectly parallel to the ground, neither to one another, the legs aren't perfectly straight.

Maybe look up "contrapposto" and make some drawings using that pose. It's a good place to start, it helped me a lot.

squiddler

I think the problem is that they're standing in a rigidly straight way.

In reality, unless you're purposefully trying to stand like this, the body assumes a bit of "S - curve". The hips and shoulders aren't perfectly parallel to the ground, neither to one another, the legs aren't perfectly straight.

Maybe look up "contrapposto" and make some drawings using that pose. It's a good place to start, it helped me a lot.