• Fur Affinity Forums are governed by Fur Affinity's Rules and Policies. Links and additional information can be accessed in the Site Information Forum.

Markings and Yarn Tails

PrettyKitty13

..is allergic to chocolate ;~;
Hi there,
I noticed this thread isn't as lively as the others, but I thought it's worth a shot.

I make yarn tails and I am just starting out, but for more complex markings, how does one map that out on a tail's base? I don't use the sewing method with my tails, I use the (much more rare) chain method. I don't dye and airbrushing, well, I've read some horror stories.
Would any of you suggest doing the markings first then fill the rest of the tail out? What about potential customers who has a character with spots or stripes?
Any information at all would help me big time.

Thank you so much :3
~PK

Last edited:

Cloudy

Curbside Prophet
I don't really know how the chain method works. In theory you could do the markings first and then just work around them when you go to fill in. I personally just try to plan out my actions at the get-go (creating a plan on paper if it's complex) because I find working around things annoying, plus I like to see how layer by layer looks as I'm doing it (even though I've done enough tails that I probably could guess how it would look and be pretty accurate, lol). So if you are comfortable with how much yarn you need to have visible in your pattern without all of the layers right there to be sure, you could at least give it a shot. I wouldn't bother about that with simple patterns like spots or stripes, though, but then again maybe there is a difference in the technique that makes those more complicated when not just sewing.

One of the most helpful things you can do is just experiment--maybe make a mini-tail and try it out and see how it works for you?

I'm sorry, that's probably not incredibly helpful...

Nataku

Shapeshifting alien dragon
What is the chain method? Could you elaborate on that please?