• Fur Affinity Forums are governed by Fur Affinity's Rules and Policies. Links and additional information can be accessed in the Site Information Forum.

Question about someone editing artwork they commissioned from you

Chomby

Monsters are hot. :)
So someone commissions an artist for a custom adopt or art of their character. There are certain markings they don't like on the custom that they want to change a little. One of the hands is backwards on the art of their character so they want to edit it to be the right way. Very small edits.

Now as an artist, I'm not exactly sure how I would feel if someone did this. I guess I can understand not telling the artist to do these things because they're afraid they'd get mad. This has never happened to me before, and if it has, I haven't found out about it. It happened to a friend on Discord and they're feeling pretty bad since the commissioner said the art was perfect.

So what do you think about this? Is this wrong? Why or why not?
I'm curious. :0

Kinare

RAWR
If the commissioner said it was perfect, then turned around and changed it in the manners you described, then they're a dick and your friend isn't wrong for feeling badly about that.

As someone who purchases arts and has a few artists for friends, I can see both sides of this.

For the artist, at least from what I've seen, most are likely to make edits without fuss - even major ones during sketch phase. Very rarely have I seen some that have a harsh policy for edits, and even then they still allow for minor edits or major edits if it was their fault. So, as long as edits are allowed in some fashion, it's pretty crappy for a commissioner to change things. On adopts I will say it seems like a "they come this way, no changes" thing, so specifically for those I don't think the edit policy is flexible enough and I could see why someone may make minor edits once purchased.