• Fur Affinity Forums are governed by Fur Affinity's Rules and Policies. Links and additional information can be accessed in the Site Information Forum.

Raptor Fursuit Head: details and process

Nitral

Hello! I’m Nitral. I’m relatively new to the furry fandom. I’ve done cosplay and worked on fursuits in the past, but lately I’ve been working on my own personal fursuit. I’ve always wanted to be a raptor, or at least look like one. However, when I was poking around the internet for raptor or scalie fursuits, there was quite little to reference. So! I’d like to share some bits and pieces of the suit I’ve been working on.

Alright, I’ll start off with the head.

This beautiful resin base was made by Kierstin LaPatka / Kiri. (Check out her stuff, it’s awesome.) Sadly the cast has been retired so she doesn’t make them any more. As you can see, next to the mask I have my idea sketch for my raptor.

To start off I paint the mask black. The teeth I actually got in a set with the mask, though the alignment didn’t work well. I had to actually had to separate all the teeth and realign them. They’re all set in epoxy clay here which is used for the gums and tongue. Unfortunately the clay tends to be a tad heavy, added some weight to the mask, more than I would have liked. But, the realistic look was worth it.

I originally wanted to do my own eyes, but the resin I was working with was giving me issues. I caved and bought eyes from Saltysuits on Etsy. The eyelids I did by folding over some thin stretchy fabric and gluing it to the eyeballs. I then used epoxy clay to actually set the eyeballs. A hell of a pain but it worked.