• Fur Affinity Forums are governed by Fur Affinity's Rules and Policies. Links and additional information can be accessed in the Site Information Forum.

seeking some critiques

cam_wolfe

greetings furs, first off, thank you for taking a peek at this thread, it's very much appreciated.

I'm currently working on a picture, a defeated (mentally and physically) minotaur all chained up in a prison holding cell. The picture can be found here (warning: minotaur in image is nude).

http://www.furaffinity.net/view/6052992/ (NSFW).

I know there's stuff wrong with it, it feels off. but it still looks like its fine. so I'm hoping a fur or two out there can give me a few tips on what to change, what needs work, etc. Since its my first time posting here, and kind of receiving critique in general, please be honest and go easy on me.

oh and one more thing, if anyone has a good tutorial on backgrounds, that would be appreciated. what I mean is, like how to build a believable background, that doesn't look like it was tacked on afterwards.

Again thanks for your time and effort.

Zydala

Kisses for everyone!
some small things off the top of my head:

the body structure of the character seems a little conflicting? Like, there's a 'heavier' look to the character (as in, the body/torso is not as well defined muscle-wise) but there's defined muscles on the side and it's confusing me. I'm not sure what body type you were going for so I just wanted to point that out.

Also, for a very heavy, defeated look, the arms don't seem to be very stretched to support his weight. Like, to make that position the character is in, it'd have to be very intentional - using the back and abdomen to hold himself up instead of his arms. I also don't know why you didn't include the hands because it makes a strange composition and is kind of distracting. (same with cutting off the knee!)

Hope this helps!