• Fur Affinity Forums are governed by Fur Affinity's Rules and Policies. Links and additional information can be accessed in the Site Information Forum.

Tracing real photos to help learn

Huglust

most goodest boi
Since I started drawing years ago my skill has constantly been in flux. One day I'm drawing better than I ever have and loving every second, the next I'm drawing like I've never spent hundreds of hours practicing and studying. It's incredibly frustrating.

One day I thought about tracing over my favorite images to try and help see my own art. These images are actual photos not someone else's drawings and all were human form. I didn't trace line for line or do this intending to make finished artwork. I haven't posted any of this work online. It's not worth looking at regardless.

The idea here was to develop a better way of sketching and to get a better sense of perspective and anatomy. What I did was draw on top of the photos as though I were sketching the pose myself and thinking of ways to draw what I was seeing that would help me draw purely from imagination. While doing this I was studying the sizes of shapes in relation to others in perspective as well as how the anatomy looks. I was only rarely tracing line-for-line and that was when there was something specific I was interested in.

What really excited me about doing this is the fact that these are real photos. Everything regarding anatomy, proportion, and perspective is sound so the sketch I end up with will reflect that. By doing this, I can see what a proper sketch looks like. It's also very easy since all the information I need is right in front of me as if I were sketching on a clear piece of plastic with a live model behind it. I have a sense of certainty in what I'm doing whereas I'm often sitting in suspense wondering if I was going to be able to capture whatever I had envisioned before I started trying to sketch it. I genuinely felt like this could be a reliable way to improve.