• Fur Affinity Forums are governed by Fur Affinity's Rules and Policies. Links and additional information can be accessed in the Site Information Forum.

website help

~Hello
So I am a textile artist catering primarily to the furry/anime communities - most of what I make are tails, ears, plushies, ect. I have had my business up and running for about a year now; I mostly take commissions but am interested in selling premades as well. I do table at conventions, however two or three cons a year doesn't cut it bill wise. I've been looking into starting a website I can sell premades through, however I'm not sure where to begin. I'd rather not start an etsy/storeenvy/ect but have my site be it's own source. So...any tips from those out there familiar with web design? I'm not super technologically skilled (read: I can't code my own stuff) however I can follow a template. I'd be fine with a website builder, I'd just like opinions as to which ones are worth the time and which ones aren't.
Thanks~

Straw

Hobby Artist
I've made some wordpress sites as a hobby, including my own (which I have to update soon) so I can shed some light here (in a nut shell)

If you want to have your own personal maintainable website, a good place to start is using Wordpress and BlueHost. Wordpress is great cause you can install plugins to suit your needs without having to write a single line of code. (But if you want you can code too). The way you do it is you first get a domain name and a host.

The domain name is the URL of your site and is separate from your host. The host is the storage server where your site content is located and accessed. The domain simply points to this server on the internet. I'm saying this cause it's very easy to confuzzle the two and end up wasting time figuring out whats what.