• Fur Affinity Forums are governed by Fur Affinity's Rules and Policies. Links and additional information can be accessed in the Site Information Forum.

What is fair to charge for licensing/copyright?

Full disclaimer, I'm not an artist, but recent experience commissioning illustrations for a book I plan on self-publishing has got me wondering about the costs of licensing, use right, copyright, etc. Commission prices are one thing, but how much can/should an artist charge if you want to use their work in a commercial product? Buy out the illustration entirely thereby obtaining the copyright? Does it matter (much) how the image will be used or how successful you expect the product to be? Should artists usually demand royalties or is a flat fee more acceptable under most circumstances? A cursory Google search did not yield much information beyond advising artists to always charge an additional fee for licencing (and especially the copyright), with which I wholeheartedly agree, but should be the fee be, say, about as much as the commission itself? More? Less?

Apologies if this has already been brought up in a previous thread.

Apologies if this is a little long — I don't have a ton of experience in this area, but after talking to artfolks and working a bit of freelance... well, I'm sure I picked up at least a little bit on the subject!

I think it's a combination of being up to the artist (people value their time differently) and the estimations of the wages they'll lose by giving up copyright, or certain rights (printing it only as a poster, printing it as a book cover/movie poster/pencil case, etc).