• Fur Affinity Forums are governed by Fur Affinity's Rules and Policies. Links and additional information can be accessed in the Site Information Forum.

What makes a comic interesting, in your opinion?

Hey everyone, I'm new to Fur Affinity forums but I've been on FA for almost a year. In those two months I've been able to work on my first comic series that I called: "A Royal Sleepover"
You can take a look at the first three pages by clicking here: Artwork Gallery for RedDiamond02 -- Fur Affinity [dot] net

I've been able to make a few pages of it but for now it's nothing special since if's only the beginning of the whole story.

Since it's my very first comic I'd love to know what, in your opinion makes a comic interesting and what mistakes should I avoid.

Thanks for your help :D

Stratelier

Your first comic is ALWAYS going to make some mistakes. First attempts at anything always do, that's just how trial and experience works -- and, speaking as someone with their own (untested) aspirations for drawing a comic, I'm similarly lacking in the experience category.

The best comics have a story that is well-plotted (well-written) combined with a visual style that shows impressive skill. It doesn't have to be a "photorealistic" level of skill like the best-drawn comics you can name, but your skill level will ALWAYS get betrayed by what the comic actually looks like to the viewer.

For example, I looked at your gallery for literally two seconds and already noticed:
- Virtually all of your faces are drawn either (1) directly facing the camera, or (2) full side profile. I don't see anyone facing the camera at an angle (e.g. the "3/4's view"), any faces looking upwards or down, nothing different or unique.
- All of your characters are drawn, forgive the pun, "bust"ed -- as in, you're only drawing them from the waist up.