• Fur Affinity Forums are governed by Fur Affinity's Rules and Policies. Links and additional information can be accessed in the Site Information Forum.

What would you like from a furry table top roleplaying game?

DaneAsmund

Hey everyone!

So I am a TTRPG designer who keeps seeing lots of games come through Kickstarter and elsewhere that feature dogs and cats and other animals, and they do really well. I can't help but think that the furry community probably helps support these games, but they aren't really furry games, just games that let you play animals.

If I were to make Fur and Scales, a tentative title for such a game, what sort of things would you want to see in it? What would be must-haves for race options (animal species), or what elements/mechanics do you think would make the experience more furry than other games that allow anthro races to be played?

What do you do in current Dungeons and Dragons games that you like from a furry perspective, and what do you wish would go further?

I think it would be really fun to connect with big names in furry art and work with just the furry community for such a game, and would love to be directed, if possible, to people who are interested!

Thanks everyone!

Dane

Angelfrost72

Hi! I'm a long time D&D player & DM, I've also looked at the furry TTRPG Iron Claw.

1. Make race (fox, cat, wombat or what ever furry types you go with) matter: This is kinda the whole reason to play Fur & Scales I wanna "be" my fursona. I would say go with depth, have a smaller number of races with there own feats and class options instead of trying to get ever single furry type in one book.

2. Have a story: I'm going to level with you Furry is hard to get into in part because it lakes a "story" unlike say the Star Wars fandom but a well developed campaign setting will help both furries and normies get in to the fun.