• Fur Affinity Forums are governed by Fur Affinity's Rules and Policies. Links and additional information can be accessed in the Site Information Forum.

Writer Looking for Advice

SlyRiolu

A-veri Rood Roo
I've been writing for one to two years now (most of it was roleplaying) but whenever I sit down, write, and when i'm almost done with the first chapter of a story with a new plot I crash. I'm trying to master writing without thinking too much but there's another problem, I don't know how to end chapters so they end up rough and it makes me want to cringe.

Jarren

You can't just quote yourself! -Me
You've gotta be willing to end a chapter roughly. That lets you keep moving forward and allows you progress the story. You can always come back and edit later (you SHOULD always go back and edit later). Don't sweat the small stuff too much in the rough draft. The important thing is to just keep writing. What I did was set a daily word count when I was writing my novel (still editing the damn thing) 500 word minimum a day. I could easily hit that on even my toughest evenings and that guaranteed I was always making progress. Having a rough outline of the story also helps, as does (in my opinion) some good music and a stuff drink. Ymmv on those last two. But, like I said, the most important part is to keep writing, even if you don't like what you just wrote, keep moving (or come back later and rewrite once your head is clear). But get in the habit of writing. Don't just do it when you want to. Do it every day. There's my two cents.

SlyRiolu

A-veri Rood Roo
Hmm... Alright thank you, why didn't I think of that? I only write when I think I can do it all in one sitting. I'll pick up writing soon maybe I should try something other than medieval fantasy.

S

Sergei Sóhomo

You gotta break up your general theme into many ideas and use those as vague goal posts for the length of your chapters. It's alright to cut a chapter a couple pages in if that's fitting for it

Jarren